Further Navigation


CareSouth Carolina Award State Sen. Sheheen SC HIE/HIT Summit March 9-10 SCPHCA Clinical Network Retreat Clinical Network Retreat Awards 2018 NACHC P&I SCPHCA Honors Rep. Herbkersman A study by the Institute of Alternative Futures Final RFP for Medical Supplies SCPHCA Announces Credentialing and Enrollment Services Ann Lewis- NACHC Award National Registry of CPE Registered Sponsor NACHC’s State/Regional PCA Conference 2012 SCPHCA Clinical Awards Health Fair- Marlboro County 2012 Annual Conference Eau Claire Medical Home Recognition 2013 Clinical Retreat Sponsors SCPHCA Thanks Sponsors of 2013 Clinical Retreat CareSouth Carolina Recognized by Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Rep. Clyburn Presented NACHC's 2013 Leadership Award Franklin C. Fetter Family Health Center Welcomes New Executive Director SC Institute for Health Center Excellence New Horizon Family Health Services Ground Breaking 2013 National Health Center Week SC Health Center Leader Honored at National Conference BJHCHS USDA Grant 2013- President's Award Credentialing Services

2018 Clinical Network Retreat

NACHC Funding Cliff Statement Funding Cliff Capital Development Funding Announced Franklin C. Fetter Launches New Name Eau Claire Cooperative Expands Behavioral Health Services Sen. McGill Award HopeHealth Groundbreaking Fetter Health Network Celebrates Grand Opening $100,000 donated in memory of Darlington doctor HHS awards $1,110,417 to South Carolina to help treat the prescription opioid abuse and heroin epidemic SCPHCA statement on passage of HR 2 SC Community Health Centers Join National Leaders at Policy & Issues Forum New Horizon Breaks Ground on New Facility Statement by the South Carolina Primary Health Care Association on the death of State Senator Clementa Pinckney SCPHCA Statement Regarding the Supreme Court Decision on King V. Burwell New Horizon, volunteer win national award Thank you for your support! SC Migrant Health Program: Eye Exams for Farm Workers S.C. residents, businesses face health insurance deadlines (1) SCPHCA Memorial Day Message SC Primary Health Care Association Statement on the Passing of Wilford A. Payne BJHCHS Celebrates 9th Year of Partnering with Arizona Medical School SCPHCA Board of Directors Elects Regina Mitchell as Next Chair UNDERSTANDING THE POTENTIAL TIMELINE FOR ACA “REPEAL AND REPLACE” Sights and Sounds from NACHC P&I NHCW 17 Cancer Researcher George Sigounas New HRSA Administrator CSC Chesterfield yvonne davis A Tribute to David Hayden

Browser Settings

You currently have JavaScript turned off. To utilize this portion of the website, please turn JavaScript on. To learn more about JavaScript, please visit our Help section.

2018 Clinical Network Retreat


posted on Wednesday, June 27, 2018

This June, more than 150 CHC providers arrived in North Charleston for the 24th Annual Clinical Retreat. With the theme of "Moving Population Health from Vision to Action", attendees received presentations from a variety of clinical specialities, including: primary care, oral health, pharmacy, behavioral health, cancer prevention, and HIV/AIDS care coordination. A highlight of the retreat came Friday, June 8, when the American Cancer Society launched Mission: HPV Cancer Free on the USS Yorktown.  The event was co-hosted by the PCA, MUSC and the Hollings Cancer Center.

Several providers received awards during the Retreat. They include:

The Provider of the Year award to Dr. Heather Parkhill from St. James-Santee Family Health Center. She is an advance practice nurse who champions quality improvement initiatives within her pediatric site.   In a matter of three years, through intensive practice transformation projects, her center is now a top performer in the nation for the UDS CQI measure on asthma control. On top of all of that, she recently earned her doctoral degree in nursing! 

Our next Provider of the Year, Dr. Stephen Smith from CareSouth Carolina, made a tremendously positive impact on those afflicted by the opioid epidemic in the PeeDee region. Three years ago, this person received a DEA waiver to prescribe suboxone. He championed his center's efforts to treat opioid addiction using medication-assisted treatment. Under his leadership, approximately 453 patients received much-needed treatment through MAT in 2017. 

Kathy Smith of New Horizon Family Health Services was acknowledged as our Nurse of the Year. Smith led clinical support teams throughout her organization for more than two decades.  During times of provider shortages in the community, she worked tirelessly to recruit talent professionals to ensure the best care for patients. She is a strong patient advocate who works with partners to connect patients with care regardless of their ability to pay.

Jennifer Robinette, senior pharmacy technician at ReGenesis Health Care, was awarded as the Clinical Support Staff of the Year. She helps to run a smooth pharmacy practice characterized by friendly customer service and proper inventory. Her patients aren't just a number; she knows her patients by name. She always ensures they have their prescriptions at affordable prices.

Our last awards went to those who are Champions of Practice Transformation.

Our first recipient of the Champion of Practice Transformation Award was Ernest "Stan" Wardlaw of Sandhills Medical Foundation. A true motivator who transformed his center's CQI committee, Wardlaw oversaw an increase in several clinical quality measures, including hypertension and diabetes and cancer screenings. Additionally, his passion and guidance were instrumental in his center's achievement of patient-center medical home status.

The second Champion of Practice Transformation, Yvonne Van Camp, director of clinical quality at HopeHealth, brings expertise to help improve clinical quality measures across the board. She's been directly responsible for developing new processes and training to improve patient outcomes. Particularly, she implemented evidence-based strategies to increase colorectal screening rates.

Help us spread the word, GET SOCIAL!

Access to Quality Health Care for all of South Carolina

Contact SCPHCA

Contact Us