Further Navigation


SCPHCA Statement Regarding the Supreme Court Decision on King V. Burwell New Horizon, volunteer win national award Thank you for your support! SC Migrant Health Program: Eye Exams for Farm Workers S.C. residents, businesses face health insurance deadlines (1) SCPHCA Memorial Day Message SC Primary Health Care Association Statement on the Passing of Wilford A. Payne BJHCHS Celebrates 9th Year of Partnering with Arizona Medical School SCPHCA Board of Directors Elects Regina Mitchell as Next Chair UNDERSTANDING THE POTENTIAL TIMELINE FOR ACA “REPEAL AND REPLACE” Sights and Sounds from NACHC P&I NHCW 17 Cancer Researcher George Sigounas New HRSA Administrator CSC Chesterfield yvonne davis A Tribute to David Hayden Statement by the South Carolina Primary Health Care Association on the death of State Senator Clementa Pinckney New Horizon Breaks Ground on New Facility SC Community Health Centers Join National Leaders at Policy & Issues Forum SCPHCA statement on passage of HR 2 HHS awards $1,110,417 to South Carolina to help treat the prescription opioid abuse and heroin epidemic $100,000 donated in memory of Darlington doctor Fetter Health Network Celebrates Grand Opening HopeHealth Groundbreaking Sen. McGill Award Eau Claire Cooperative Expands Behavioral Health Services Franklin C. Fetter Launches New Name Capital Development Funding Announced Funding Cliff NACHC Funding Cliff Statement 2018 Clinical Network Retreat Credentialing Services 2013- President's Award BJHCHS USDA Grant SC Health Center Leader Honored at National Conference New Horizon Family Health Services Ground Breaking SC Institute for Health Center Excellence Franklin C. Fetter Family Health Center Welcomes New Executive Director Rep. Clyburn Presented NACHC's 2013 Leadership Award CareSouth Carolina Recognized by Robert Wood Johnson Foundation SCPHCA Thanks Sponsors of 2013 Clinical Retreat Eau Claire Medical Home Recognition 2012 Annual Conference Health Fair- Marlboro County 2012 SCPHCA Clinical Awards NACHC’s State/Regional PCA Conference National Registry of CPE Registered Sponsor Ann Lewis- NACHC Award SCPHCA Announces Credentialing and Enrollment Services Final RFP for Medical Supplies A study by the Institute of Alternative Futures SCPHCA Honors Rep. Herbkersman 2018 NACHC P&I

Clinical Network Retreat Awards

SCPHCA Clinical Network Retreat SC HIE/HIT Summit March 9-10 State Sen. Sheheen CareSouth Carolina Award

Browser Settings

You currently have JavaScript turned off. To utilize this portion of the website, please turn JavaScript on. To learn more about JavaScript, please visit our Help section.

Awards Presented at Clinical Network Retreat


posted on Friday, June 30, 2017

During the SCPHCA's 23rd Annual Clinical Network Retreat, four deserving individuals were recognized for dedication to their craft and their patients. It should be noted that the descriptions below of the awardees' work are based off nominations submitted by their colleagues. 

The first was Affinity Health Center's Glenda Elder, who is a Medical Assistant. She received the SCPHCA's Clinical Support Staff of the Year Award.  Elder has been with Affinity since 2007 and helped to guide its growth. She's increased the efficiency of the patient experience and is a cheerleader for implementing new processes. Partly through her leadership, Affinity is a model of patient-centered excellence.

The Nurse of the Year Award was presented to Leah Cummings of Little River Medical Center. She began as a triage nurse right out of nursing school. A team player, she quickly grasps new technologies and concepts and ensures her colleagues understand them as well.  The skill of her craft and above-and-beyond work ethic led to a promotion as a site supervisor.

Two individuals were honored as Health Care Provider of the Year. Our first award winner skillfully manages multiple aspects of care while exhibiting honesty, dedication and compassion. She's been in the FQHC world for nearly 20 years and is no stranger to working after hours and on weekends. This dedication is why Dr. Deanna Cotter, Chief of Family Medicine, Vice President of Clinical Services and interim Chief Medical Officer of New Horizon Family Health Services, was selected as Health Care Provider of the Year. 

Last but certainly not least was our second Health Care Provider of the Year. Dr. Mark Janosky, DMD, of Little River Medical Center is a combination of strong leadership and compassion with an innovative spirit to boot.  His high level care was recently recognized with a federal predoctoral training grant. He inspires the next generation of oral health providers to advance the health of everyone. 

Congratulations to all of our award winners this year!

Help us spread the word, GET SOCIAL!

Access to Quality Health Care for all of South Carolina

Contact SCPHCA

Contact Us